Media Release

December 9, 2020

Appointments Announced for Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation Board of Directors

The Honourable Brian Warr, Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development and Minister Responsible for the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation, today announced five new appointments and one re-appointment to the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation’s (NLHC) Board of Directors.

Appointed for three-year terms, the members include:

  • George Andrews;
  • Bernard Bromley;
  • Noreen Careen;
  • Liz Palmera-Nunez;
  • Darlene Spracklin-Reid;
  • Rhonda Neary (re-appointment as Chairperson of the Board)

Current Board member David Loveys was also appointed as Vice-Chairperson of the Board. Biographies for the appointed and reappointed members are provided in the backgrounder below.

These appointments were recommended though the merit-based Independent Appointments Commission. Members of the public interested in opportunities to serve on provincial agencies, boards and commissions are encouraged to complete an application at



“I’m very pleased to welcome these new members to the Board of Directors of Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation. These individuals bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the board and, along with current members, will play an important role in assisting the corporation to effectively serve the housing needs of our vulnerable populations.”

Honourable Brian Warr

Minister Responsible for Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation


– 30 –


Learn more

Follow us on Twitter @GovNL and @nlhousing

Like us on Facebook


Media contact

Jenny Bowring
Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation



Biographies of the Appointed and Reappointed Members of the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation Board of Directors


George Andrews

George Andrews is currently the Officer In Charge with Labrador Marine Communications and Traffic Services with the Canadian Coast Guard in Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Born in Labrador, he has extensive experience through many sectors of the community. Mr. Andrews sits as President of the Board of Directors of Terrington Consumers Cooperative. With his many years of working and managing in an emergency operational environment, he serves on the Provincial 911 Board. In addition, as a sitting member of the Labrador Appeals Board, he often calls on his experience as a former real estate agent, Councillor and Deputy Mayor of Happy Valley-Goose. His involvement in many community organizations shows how he enjoys helping others.


Bernard Bromley

Bernard Bromley worked with community newspapers in Newfoundland and Labrador for more than three decades. Prior to his retirement, Mr. Bromley was owner and publisher of the Northern Pen, the weekly newspaper serving the Great Northern Peninsula and Southern Labrador. He has been involved in municipal politics, the St. Anthony and Area Chamber of Commerce and various community groups for many years including the St. Anthony and Area Food Sharing Association, where he served as Chairman for 14 years. Mr. Bromley also served as vice-chairman of St. Anthony Basin Resources Inc. for five years. He resides in St.  Anthony.


Noreen Careen

Noreen Careen has lived in Labrador West for 46 years and recently retired from 43 years in the workforce. She was Executive Director of the Labrador West Status of Women for 18 years. Ms. Careen was instrumental in construction of Labrador West’s Women Shelter and the opening of Labrador West first Daycare Center and Family Resource Center. She is presently President of the Labrador West Twin Cities 50+ Club, Regional Director with the NL 50+ Federation for Labrador, and board member with the Provincial Advisory Council on Seniors and Aging. She is a member of the Newfoundland & Labrador Housing and Homeless Coalition, the Labrador West Housing and Homelessness Coalition, the NL Prevention of Elder Abuse Committee and Vice Chair with Violence Prevention Labrador. In 2019 and 2014, Ms. Careen received the Seniors of Distinction Award from the Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development Department in 2019 and 2014, the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Community Services award in 2014 and a Labradorian of Distinction award in 2017.


David Loveys

David Loveys is a CPA with more than 13 years of experience as a senior level executive. Through his consulting practice, D. R. Loveys & Associates Inc., he is CFO of Cornerstone Capital Resources Inc. and has also been the CFO of Aurion Resources Limited, as well as consulting for other organizations. Mr. Loveys currently sits on the boards of WorkplaceNL, Cornerstone Capital, Aurion Resources and Atlantic Light Theatre. He also has past board experience with the Duke of Edinburgh Awards, the YM-YWCA, Canadian Red Cross and the Historic Sites Association. He has a Bachelor of Commerce from Memorial University, a Chartered Professional Accountant designation and holds a certificate from the Canadian Securities Course.


Rhonda Neary

Rhonda Neary brings with her a wealth of knowledge and 20 years’ experience in the Construction Sector and Governance Board Environment. The recipient of numerous National Awards, she has been cited for her excellence in communication, leadership and development of activities leading to a higher degree of professionalism in specific fields in addition to being the recipient of many National Association Awards for progress and achievement. Ms. Neary’s past additional accomplishments includes serving two terms as a director of the Provincial Apprenticeship and Certification Board. She is the President and COO of the Newfoundland and Labrador Construction Industry, a role she has held for 11 years – a smart creative thinker, her role in the association fosters a culture of inclusion, collaboration, transparency and opportunity.


Liz Palmera-Nunez

Liz Palmera-Nunez is the Manager of Transmission and Distribution Engineering with Newfoundland Power, the primary distribution utility in Newfoundland and Labrador. Ms. Palmera-Nunez holds a degree in Electrical Engineering from Memorial University of Newfoundland and is a member of the Professional Engineers and Geoscientist of Newfoundland and Labrador (PEGNL). She has strong engineering skills and extensive knowledge of the province’s electricity system. She has over 10 years’ experience in the utility industry, previously working with BC Hydro and Maritime Electric.


Darlene Spracklin-Reid

Darlene Spracklin-Reid is a lecturer in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at Memorial University. She is past chair of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador (PEGNL) and has served on several boards including the Canadian Engineering Education Association, the Newfoundland and Labrador Construction Association and the American Concrete Institute. Ms. Spracklin-Reid has received the PEGNL Outstanding Community Service Award, the President’s Award for Exemplary Service to Memorial University, the Fry Family Foundation’s “Top 1% Elite Award” in recognition of commitment to community service and the Memorial University Alumni Award for Community Service.