Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation (NLHC) is the housing arm of the provincial government. NLHC was incorporated on May 9, 1967, following a series of housing conferences held through the province. The aim in creating the new corporation was to provide an agency which would have the necessary legislative authority and the capacity to embark upon a major housing and land development program. In particular, it was to provide an organization which could respond adequately on a provincial basis to the various kinds of assistance available under the National Housing Act. When the Corner Brook Housing Corporation was disbanded in 1978, management of its portfolio was assumed by NLHC through the establishment of a regional office. In 1981, NLHC amalgamated with the St. John’s Housing Corporation and, as a result, took over development of the Cowan Heights land assembly.

NLHC is governed by a Board of Directors representing different geographic regions and special interest groups and reports to the provincial government through the Minister Responsible for Housing. The Chief Executive Officer is responsible for the day-to-day operations of NLHC.

A head office in St. John’s, along with seven regional offices and one sub-office, ensure that all residents of Newfoundland and Labrador have access to the corporation’s programs and services.

See Organizational ChartPDF